My Cucu – My Grandma

“…this is what the past is for! Every experience God gives us, every person He puts in our lives is the perfect preparation for a future that only He can see.” Corrie Ten Boom

A week ago my grandma rested from the troubles of this world. We buried her yesterday. It’s gladdening to know with certainty that though absent from us, she is present and safe in God’s loving arms. She was my last living grandparent and i’m officially grandparent-less.

I thank God for my grandma’s life and death. For without death, would we ever appreciate life? Do take a look at her story below, she really was a great woman.

MY GRANDMA’S EULOGY

So what did we do today? What i imagine we all do the day after biding farewell to a dear family member. We stay home and talk about yesterday’s ceremony, speeches, anecdotes; we remind each other of fond moments in the past; we try to make sense of choices and actions, giving reasons for why they did what they did the way they did; and thus we mourned my grandma with words, reinforcing our memories of her…and in so doing celebrated her living.

SONG OF THE WEEK – A CHILD OF GOD – Kathryn Scott
Father you’re all i need, My soul’s sufficiency,
My strength when i am weak, the love that carries me,
Your arms enfold me, till i am only a child of God.

Leave a Reply

